NCGCC Leadership

Dr. Marabeth E. Gentry,
National President

Dr. Marabeth Gentry, President

Dr. Gentry, a native of St. Louis, Missouri, is the daughter of the late Joshua and Geneva Gentry. She is a graduate of Harris-Stowe State University and a Distinguished Alumnus of the university. She received a Master of Arts in Music from Webster University and an Honorary Doctorate from Easter Theological Seminary. Selected twice as a Who’s Who Among American Teachers, she is retired educator from the Saint Louis Public School System after 32 years of service.

In addition to her public service, Dr. Gentry is known as a world-acclaimed psalmist. She has appeared on radio and television programs locally, nationally and internationally, and has traveled extensively throughout the United States and abroad. Dr. Gentry has recorded one album and appeared on many others. Nationally, she became known as the multi-talented singer that sang Gospel, Opera, Broadway and Soul Tunes that left the audience captivated by her melodious sounds. She later became known as "The Sanctified Opera Singer."

In 2012, Dr. Gentry was elected National President of NCGCC at the 60th annual convention session in Washington, DC. Before her elevation, she had served as 1st Vice President for almost twenty years alongside the late NCGCC President Bishop Kenneth H. Moales, Sr. Under her leadership and vision, NCGCC membership and awareness of the convention, including its place in history, has increased.

Dr. Gentry is a two-time Stellar Award recipient. In February 2016, Dr. Gentry received the Thomas A. Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award at the 31st Annual Stellar Awards in Las Vegas, Nevada. And in March 2018, Dr. Gentry was inducted into the Stellar Awards Honors Hall of Fame during the 33rd Annual Stellar Awards.

Other notable awards include the Legacy Award (2016) from the Saint Louis County Chapter of the NAACP; the National Black Radio Hall of Fame Award (2016) for continuing the traditions of Gospel Music; and the Legacy Award (2017) from the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. Gateway Metropolitan Chapter in appreciation of her outstanding community service.

Dr. Gentry is currently the President for When Singers Meet, Inc. ®, a Gospel music performance organization that she’s partnered with The Salvation Army for over 40 years. In addition, she is an honorary member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority and has received many awards and recognition from civic, community, educational and religious national organizations for her involvement. She credits all accomplishments to God’s presence and hand on her life, and enjoys reading and cooking.

Chairman of the Board


Rev. Dr. Albert Morgan
chairman of the board

Vice Presidents


bishop Shawn Bell
1st Vice President


Dr. Bessie Palmer
2nd Vice President


Dr. Ulysses Moye
3rd Vice President


Dr. Dorothea Shanks
4th Vice President


elder kenneth moales, jr.
5th Vice President

National Board of Directors

Rev. Albert Morgan, Chairman of the Board

Serena Blanco, Northeast Regional Director/President's Council Leader
Rev. Michael Bowen, Board member
Stanley Bray, Alumni Chorale Representative
Steven Bray, Midwest Regional director
wilma clayborn, board member
Kayla Billups, Board Secretary
Dr. Shanda Cummings Crowder, national registrar
minister brian davis, national treasurer - deceased
KAYLON HOWARD, Youth and Young Adult Board Representative
Michael Keith Jester, Great Lakes Regional director

jerome johnson, board member
Hadiya King, Director of Financial affairs
dr. ulysses moye II, 3rd vice president
Fannie Palmer, national Financial Secretary
Debra Oden, Supervisor’s Guild Board Representative
dr. bessie palmer, 2nd vice president
rev. michael l. pickett, southwest regional director
dr. dorothea a. shanksSHANKS-LOTT, 4th vice president
Minister Kevin L. Simmons, NATIONAL Assistant Treasurer
Etholia Sweat, Southeast Regional director
christine o. wade, director of operations
minister Rodney Whitley, Soloist Bureau Representative/director publications
Shawn Bell, Board Member

Honorary Board Members

Bishop Kenneth Dupree
Rev. Dr. Cynthia Hale
Dr. Teresa Hairston
Late Dr. Edwin Hawkins
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (represented by Mr. Carl Davis)
Mr. Don Jackson
Dr. Bobby Jones
Mr. Donald Lawrence
Mr. Austin Layne
Mr. Michael McMillan
Archbishop Alfred A. Owens, Jr.
Evangelist Susie C. Owens
Mr. Richard Smallwood
mr. david steward (ida woolfolk)

Emeritus Board Members

Rev. Dr. Richard Brown, III
Rev. Michael Cummings
Dr. Rosemary Griffin
Rev. Johnny Thompson